energyliferoyal.blogg.se

Vmware player tools os x 10 stuck startup
Vmware player tools os x 10 stuck startup











You pointed me in the right direction, so I looked and found this post: Īfter adding those configuration options, I no longer have a problem with missing root device, but my boot is now stuck at: Post the output from lspci, so we can see the hardware that VMware player shows to guest operating systems. I have a fading memory that VMware player wants a strange SCSI device that is not in the Kernel SCSI menu. It should have said unknown block(X,Y) too.Īlso boot your VMware player with a live distro. Any ideas why this happens? I added 'rootfstype=ext4' to kernel line in grub.cfg, but that didn't help. After doing that and generating new grub.cfg, I can see the problem: 'could not find the root block device'. I had to uncomment 'GRUB_TERMINAL=console' in order to see the boot process, I completely forgot about that. Those that have never had a hard drive fail. the kernel is made for the wrong CPU, so it gets an illegal instruction error before it can tell you about it. the kernel load address in incorrect in the kernel. That implies that grub in loading the kernel and initrd then it goes wrong. The next line should be Decompressing Linux. How can I get any debug output in this boot process? Does this mean that actually kernel loading fails? I tried removing initrd from the grub.cfg but I'm still stuck. I did the whole installation twice in a vm and once(successfully) on my laptop. I generated grub.cfg with grub2-mkconfig, didn't edit anything. How can I check? I tried adding some params to kernel line while booting, but all I get printed out is: Some typo in bootloader config? Maybe try it without initramfs or embed initramfs in kernel image? If I missed some basic info that I need to provide, please tell me and I will. I would gladly try to troubleshoot this myself, but I don't have any idea where to start, so if someone can point me in the right direction, I'd be really grateful. Installing using the same steps on my laptop results in a fully functional system. partitioning the same as the one described in the handbook This is the basic info about the installation: Everything went fine during the installation, but after reboot, vm is stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk'.

vmware player tools os x 10 stuck startup

#Vmware player tools os x 10 stuck startup install#

I tried to install gentoo in a VMware player, following instructions provided in a amd64 handbook. Posted: Tue 6:54 am Post subject: stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk' Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo Gentoo Forums :: View topic - stuck at 'loading initial ramdisk'











Vmware player tools os x 10 stuck startup